We Are Number One

2016 has been a raging dumpster fire of a year, but today I really just need to remind myself of how well I have succeeded over the past 12 months. I have graduated from UMSL with a BA in English, a member of the honors college, and as magna cum laude, during which I had work published in both Litmag (the spring college mag) and Bellerive (the honors college’s fall mag). I am now going to UIUC for my masters in library and information science, after spending 2 years working in the Thomas Jefferson Library, which ultimately cemented my decision to shift from English to LIS. I also got out of the house more, met a lot of amazing people, read a lot of great stuff, did some great writing, and established some wonderful relationships with my professors and supervisors that I hope continue in 2017 and beyond.

So, yeah. You know what? Wasn’t all bad. Positivity still survives somewhere in the world, even if sometimes I forget that it exists. We are number one. We got this. Bring it on, 2017. We are the heroes now.

Leave a Reply

